Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

What is Skubalon?

Is it something stuck to the bottom of your shoe?

 Is it causing global warming?

 Is the Bush Administration to blame for it?

 No, nothing like that. Here is what it is… It is a Greek word that has been transliterated to Skubalon.  In the Greek its Skuvbalon. (Click here for proper pronunciation) Its defined as any refuse, as the excrement of animals, offscourings, rubbish, dregs of things worthless and detestable.

 Nasty stuff for sure. Why would I choose to make my blog name such a terrible one?

There is a dual meaning:.

  1. Paul in the New Testament in the Bible said that all he could do that would in some way match or surpass the greatness of Jesus, whom he called his Savior, was worthless. (Philippians 3:8) One better he said it was rubbish. It was garbage. Dare I say, “poop?” Course you all are thinking of the real word. Well so am I. But truthfully I believe that Paul is right. Compared to Jesus Christ and His greatness it is…(fill in the word.) Not that I am attempting to make you feel bad for yourself, but that we understand how great God is.
  2. I am convinced that all my ramblings will not really amount to anything. And so in that light I think anything I put on here be it in view of the greatness of God or not is going to be rubbish. Skubalon.

 And so there you have it. The meaning of the word. I chose it for its meaning but also as my favorite Greek word. Yeah, how many people have a favorite Greek word?

One Response to “What is Skubalon?”

  1. […] reason this blog was viewed 655 times in the last year. It was a landslide victory with runner-up What is Skubalon coming in at 122 […]


Leave a Reply

