Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

Faithfully Unproductive

I am by character a very administrative/managerial person. Not a bad quality at all. B/C of this I look at church and my work from a business standpoint. Not a bad thing in our capitalists/corporation driven society. There will be some who will say that the church is not a business and should not be run as such. I beg to differ. But this is not why I write.

 Last night was Wednesday night. We have our evening time at church. I also run the van to pick up kids. There is one family of kids who have been faithful in coming, but in the last few months have slacked off. Now they don’t come at all. Both parents and kids have subpar excuses. After much prodding and stopping and asking every Wednesday night I finally passed they’re house yesterday evening and didn’t stop. I just kept going.

Part of me wonders if they noticed. I felt guilty about not stopping but after two months of turn downs I was tired of it. It was in my opinon it is an unproductive expenditure of my energy. That is not the first time I have deduced that this was the case and moved on. Part of me thinks that is not right. That we should keep working and helping them, but when they refuse to help themselves then what more can we do? I covered this in some ways in To Help the Helpless.

But the more I thought about this the more my guilt subsided. I began to realize that even scripture indicates that productivity was important to those who ministered. If the activity proved unproductive then they were to move on and try some where else.

  • Jesus told His disciples: If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town. (Matthew 10:14)
  • Paul even did this: But when the Jews opposed Paul and became abusive, he shook out his clothes in protest and said to them, “Your blood be on your own heads! I am clear of my responsibility. From now on I will go to the Gentiles.” (Acts 18:6)

Savvy production managers? Seems like it. To me this applies to any point.

  •  If a church tries a certain program or activity and it proves unproductive, kill it and get something else going.
  • If a minister sees that his ministering is not working with a person then he should try but have in mind a cut off point. An end to lack of productivity.
  • If a minister sees a church is not progressing or refuses to be productive then perhaps he should consider moving on. Finding a more productive outlet.

In the end we only have so much time on this earth to impact as many as we can for God. Why waste time on things that do not produce results?

2 Responses to “Faithfully Unproductive”

  1. I hear what you’re saying, poopman, and I can relate. As a minister we feel personally responsible for the health of the church, or to be more honest, for the profitability of the corporation. We are portrayed as the CEO, so if the corporation is doing well (in church terms, attendance and offerings are up) then we are praised, if it’s not, we are blamed. But, you have to be careful to avoid the Messiah Complex, that is, where you feel personally responsible for the spiritual health of each person in the church. That family you’re talking about: you’ve gone MORE than the extra mile, they know their spiritual needs, if they reject the church, they are not rejecting you but the Lord. I’m being hypocritical because, like you, I go out of my way for folks, but I’m trying to get where I realize that all I can do is my best, the results are up to them. It’s hard to learn this, especially since we are held up as the ones who will make the church grow. I’m always encouraged by John 6:66 where Jesus told the disciples the level of commitment that he expected and many disciples left him… and he let them go.

  2. I am not sure why you called me poopman.


Leave a Reply

