Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

Good Point about Christian Books

My friend Brandon has got me ranting about this.

In his blog post, “The Gospel According to Jesus Christ,” he goes off on the inability to find a good book at Barnes and Noble. As an addition here is, “I have Angst.”

 It is annoying when you go and there is nothing but junk to read. I have been so put out by much of what we see to read that I have gone back to often times reading classics.

But worse than that is the junk that Christian book sellers produce. Books that are either shallow as far as depth of spiritual thought and/or painting a false sense of feel good spirituality (Your Best Life Now.) Please don’t buy it b/c I linked them.

I will admit that when Purpose Driven Life came out I was impressed. It was well done in my opinion. Kind of light but that was good b/c that was Rick Warren’s Audience. People who did not know Jesus and he wanted them to know that God had a plan for them. That is to accept Jesus as Lord and Savior for the forgiveness of sins and live a life dedicated to him. But alas even Rick has had his material squeezed in the capitalists press to get every last ounce of juice out of it they can.

But from this came book after book that is all about self help. How to be happy. That God wants you to be happy. That life is hopping on happy clouds while taking in only enough spiritual nourishment to feel warm and fuzzy inside.

Frankly I am tired of it. I think it is selling all of us short even the ones who do not understand Jesus Christ or know much about Him. They are in a sense saying, “You are stupid and we will prove it by selling you”The New in Christian Thing,” complete with book, journal, bookmark, DVD study, bible, video and action figures for the kids. And it is snatched up.

The next time you are out shopping don’t feed the beast that is Christian book marketing. Check closely to see it is any good. Ask around. Check out what your minister is reading. If its “You Best Life Now,” then form a committee and fire him. You can do better…

4 Responses to “Good Point about Christian Books”

  1. I’m surprised nobody has commented on this. Allow me to be the first.

    Ah-hem.

    “This is a good post. Thank you. Goodnight.”

  2. I am going to say that the lack of responses are b/c they read the post and thing that nothing more needs to be said.

    Well not really…

    I don’t know why there is a lack of support. But in looking at your blog I would say its just time in gathering a loyal following. I notice that your blog has generally the same people responding. Or maybe I don’t have anything to say. I know it used to be only the best would be plublished but now with blogging any moron can get on and talk about what he wants good or bad. So I am just another part of the system.

  3. Yeah, look at percentages.

    I have about 100 visits a day. I get maybe 2 or 3 comments. That’s only 2-3% of the visitors leaving a comment. I imagine, if you did the math, it would be about the same for you.

  4. Yeah, I don’t worry. Its cool just to have people floating through and if it helps someone great if not then at least I feel semi better about life to chat about things.


Leave a Reply

