Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

Shiny Happy Pastor Laughing…

Came across this article on christianitytoday.com.

 Being someone who likes REM (the title is an obvious rip off of Shiny Happy People), it sort of caught my attention. But it also caught my attention b/c I think many Ministers deal with the issue of being happy all the in public and yet at times inside are sad or dealing with many issues.

 Now that is not what the article went on to discuss. As a matter of fact it did go on to touch on something similar to my first initial thoughts based on the title alone.

 If you read the article you’ll see that a Chicago Paper did a stat that suggested that Ministers are the happiest profession there is.

 I personally feel that is highly overrated. I will say from my point of view its more like a job you wish you could change but at the end of the day you know its worth it. It is hard and very draining. But at the end of the day you know that there is nothing you would rather be doing.

But there is something to be said of the Barna and Focus stats. Though they may seem high they are probably very close. After all this is the profession that comes with the advisors response when asked by a young person if they should enter the ministry, “If there is anything else in the world you would rather do then do that.” That is to say only be a minister if you have that drive deep inside that cannot be sidetracked.

So I agree that all ministers probably go through some of those areas of struggle whether accurate or not. If so then the question is why?

Why are ministers dropping out at such a rate? Why are marriages being impacted at such a high rate? Why are they dropping out so frequently?

For whatever reason it is certainly a shame. I throw this out with only a few scattered thoughts as to why. I think to elaborate more would not make my thoughts clear. So I hope that this will generate some thoughts and then put the puzzle together.

It will answer the question of why.

4 Responses to “Shiny Happy Pastor Laughing…”

  1. There are a number of factors that lead to a minister changing careers. I would like to suggest that the stress & low-pay kind of joins forces and after so long of suffering through we give up. The draining you mentioned might be a factor but, as you suggested, there is still satisfaction. When it is hard to pay the bills & when you live on the edge not knowing from week to week if someone will fire you for no good reason, it is a wonder that so many of us stay in ministry more than the numbers that leave.

  2. Thanks John for commenting.

    It seems like a real problem among many ministers. These problems of ill treatment by congregations. Its hard enough to serve in a high stress job much less have to deal with the problems. It is a shame to some great ministers drop out and find better b/c of the problems.

  3. I know what you guys mean. After my first two churches I was ready to leave the church, let alone the ministry. I think we the problem we face is the lack of love. We (us and church goers) forget the second greatest commandment is Love your neighbor. How much would the world change if actually practiced that in the church? Love your pastor, your elders and your fellow church goer.
    -Mike

  4. Mike,

    Thanks for your thoughts.

    I have observed that the biggest problem is selfism. I want my way or no way. There are so many in churches that are unwilling to let leadership or ministers lead b/c they feel its their show. That is sad b/c its not its the Lord’s. Yet they have made an idol of their church.


Leave a Reply

