Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

Motorcycle Man Talks with Me

Continuing to talk about handing out the Million Dollar Tracts.

 So far no one has punched me or refused them. So that is nice of them.

But one unique encounter happened today. I was about to leave the church. Had the kids out in the car ready to go when a man on a motorcycle came by and stopped. He had been on our road for about 45 minutes with no restroom in sight. Could he use ours. Of course I told him.

So he went in. I sat there for a moment thinking about whether or not to mention it to him. Should I give him a tract? Will he talk to me?

To make matters worse he spoke broken english. Not so bad that it was impossible to communicate. But it was hard to understand everything.

So very nervous and unsure about what he would say I waited for him. As he came out I asked him about his trip. Where was he going? Was he enjoying it? He whipped out a map and told me about the trip. Asked for directions. He was a very pleasant person.

Alas, I could tell the small talk was over I told him, “Hey I got to give you a gospel tract before you go. It is one of those joke million dollar bills. Its just for laughs, but it does ask the very important question, ‘If you died today would you go to heaven?'”

He said, “Oh thank you,” and put it in his back pocket after looking for a few seconds at the back. He then asked me what I believed.

I said, “I believe that we are seperated from God b/c of our sins. We have broken God’s standard the Ten Commandments. B/C of this God had to send His Son Jesus to die for our sins to atone for our Sin. We must repent and put our faith in the salvation Jesus offers to go to heaven.”

He asked me what heaven was to me, “To stay here or one day go to be with God?”

I told him to be with God. He went on to tell me that he had a Bible but did not read it often. He believed that the Bible was the only thing to read but many have added to it over the years. I agreed. He talked about how he felt that God has shown us the way but we get sidetracked with religion. I agreed.

But beyond that I had a hard time getting him back to the Ten Commandments test and other serious talk b/c of the language barrier and my own novice nervousness as well. At times it sounded like we were on the same page and other times not.

But in the end I told him to get that Bible back out and read it. That what happens when he dies is an important question to answer. He agreed and I thanked him for talking to me and he went on his way.

I pray that he will read the tract or get his Bible back out. Let the Lord of all languages work on his heart.

4 Responses to “Motorcycle Man Talks with Me”

  1. Your little $1,000,000 bills sound like they are turning into great conversation starters.

    That, and your bathroom.

  2. Thanks for checking in.

    You know I used to think that these tracts were stupid and cheesy. And some are but the few that Way of the Master provides are neat.

    The million dollar one is a good example of that. They look so real that federal agents acutally took them away from one group that had them.

    But they do work. I don’t mind giving them out when they are cool.

    There are others on there I plan to buy soon. Go to the link to see what I am talking about.

  3. I just ordered 200 million dollar bills today! Not bad for 13 bucks.

    I think this encounter had to be arranged by God: who ever heard of a German who wouldn’t just pull off the side of the road to pee. Unless… did you have to spray the Oust when he left?

  4. I didn’t look. He could have taken a dump in the floor for all I know. I was too excited that the conversation went well.

    Good to hear you ordered them. You will be surprised how quickly you will go throught them if you leave them in areas and then give them out ever so often.

    Could you imagine how many you would need for a big event?


Leave a Reply

