Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

Out of the Mouth of Babes

This week I received some very encouraging news. And I had to eat some crow.

When I first ordered the Million Dollar tracts I took some to church and put them in the little information rack by the door. I put in the bulletin a plug for them. “Have a hard time breaking the ice with people about spiritual things? Take a million dollar tract.”

Sure enough they have flew out the door. I have probably put about 150 of them out. They just keep disappearing. Very encouraging indeed.

But to my disappointment I noticed most of them were being carted out by our youth. That was hard for me to ignore. After all your first inclination would have been similar to mine. They are just taking them and playing with them. I bet I will find them laying all over the parking lot as I leave. It bugged me. They weren’t free and they needed to get to the people who needed them. I held back though b/c I reasoned that maybe they are getting into someones hand even if its an accident.

This morning I was humbled and also encouraged. Our youth coordinator came into the office this morning to run things off. One of our youth came in and said, “This is the last tract, can we have more to put out?” I gave him some and he put them out.

The yth. coor. looked over at me and told me that the kids have told her stories about giving them out at restaurants and the grocery store. They seem to be giving them out to many as they go. They are telling them about Salvation. Though they are not fully sure about what to say they are doing something.

I was extremely excited but also very humbled. Here are young people who though they may not have all the answers they have something many lack. They are excited. They have passion. The believe what they do and are not afraid to share with others even if its just handing out a tract.

I hope we take the testimony of these and see its not about perfect words or its not always about being old enough or good enough. Even though it is good to understand the right message we must see that sometimes its enough to care.

4 Responses to “Out of the Mouth of Babes”

  1. Teenager are cool! A lot coller than we give them credit for!

  2. They were preteens really. They did a great job and showed up a lot of us.

  3. 🙂 Hopefully there is a strong discipleship program in your church.

  4. Melisa,

    Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

