Skubalon
I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus and count them but rubbish.

3 Year Bible Plan

Am reading a little booklet produced by John MacArthur called, “Found: God’s Will.” It is a nice little booklet that breaks down in six principles the very special yet simple understanding of God’s Will for our lives.

Now I don’t want to dwell on this part but many go around trying to seek out God’s Will in such a way as to complicate it. But God’s Will for us is simply broken down like this:

  1. Get Saved
  2. Read Your Bible
  3. Pray
  4. Grow Spiritually in Christ
  5. Evangelize the Lost

Its that simple.

The reason why I write this is MacAruthur in his booklet lays out how he was able to better learn the books of the Bible. Where particular topics are and how to know the scriptures. He also advocates this method b/c one way we can know God’s Will and be Spirit-Filled is to be constantly in God’s Word and know it well.

It is my intention to give this method a try and help me learn scripture a little more. I know methods like this work. I remember when I wanted to break myself of drinking soda. I abstained from soda for 23 days. Now I only drink water with the occasional soda or sweet drink. I was told by a business friend that if you do something for 23 days it becomes habit.

I encourage all of you who are serious about your relationship with God and want to not only find His will, but also be closer to God through the Word.

I have broken my plan down over the course of approx. three years. A long time I know but no more than if a person were going to school. It is a long term investment into your spiritual growth.

Here is how I would break it down:

2008
Jan: John 1-7
Feb: John 8-15
March: John 16-21
April: Romans 1-8
May: Romans 9-16
June: Galatians 1-6
July: Hebrews 1-6
August: Hebrews 7-13
September: James 1-5
October: Philippians 1-4
November: Colossians 1-4
December: Ephesians 1-6

2009
Jan: Matthew 1-7
Feb: Matthew 8-14
March: Matthew 15-21
April: Matthew 22-28
May: Acts 1-7
June: Acts 8-14
July: Acts 15-21
August: Acts 22-28
September: 1 Corinthians 1-8
October: 1 Corinthians 9-16
November: 2 Corinthians 1-6
December: 2 Corinthians 7-13

2010
Jan: Luke 1-8
Feb: Luke 9-17
March: Luke 18-24
April: 1 & 2 Peter
May: 1, 2 & 3 John
June: 1 Timothy
July: 2 Timothy
August: Titus & Philemon & Jude
September: 1 Thessalonians
October: 2 Thessalonians
November: Mark 1-8
December: Mark 9-16

2011
Jan: Revelation 1-7
Feb: Revelation 8-15
March: Revelation 16-22

Join me as we take on the challenge to grow in Christ.

No Responses to “3 Year Bible Plan”

Leave a Reply

